Jump to content

Get to Know ABOG - for Residents

ABOG is headquartered in Dallas, Texas.


Who is ABOG?


The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) board certifies physicians in Obstetrics and Gynecology and in four subspecialties: Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery; Gynecologic Oncology; Maternal-Fetal Medicine; and Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility.


Here's a quick video to familiarize yourself with ABOG.


Fast Facts:

  • ABOG was established in 1927 and incorporated in 1930.
  • The ABOG office is located in Dallas, Texas, and there are 35+ employees who help administer the certification process for approximately 1,500 certification candidates each year and 40,000 Diplomates.
  • ABOG is led by Executive Officers and Members of its Board of Directors. These physicians do the work of leading the organization on a voluntary basis, and they hail from all parts of the country and work as leaders in various capacities in the institutions they serve.
  • Operationally, ABOG’s work is led on a daily basis by its Executive Leadership team, all based in the Dallas-Fort Worth area.
  • ABOG is one of 24 certifying organizations included in the boards community of the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS). Based in Chicago, ABMS provides standardization oversight and resources to all 24 member boards across the country.
  • Obtaining specialty (OB GYN) certification is a two-step exam process.
    • Step #1: taking and passing the Qualifying Exam, which is typically offered each year in June.
    • Step #2: taking and passing the Certifying Exam, which is offered during one of the following months: November, December, January, and February.
  • Here’s a snapshot for you of what the overall certification process looks like.


To learn more about ABOG, its mission, and the latest ABOG news, visit “About ABOG.”



Why ABOG? 90+ Years of Certifying



ABOG aims to be the Gold Standard for OB GYN certification. With vast experience gained over almost a century of certifying physicians to care for and treat women across the broad spectrum of women’s health, ABOG is proud to be the leader in OB GYN certification.


Advances in medicine are now occurring at a faster pace than any other time with the intersection of medicine and technology. With those advances, certification and maintaining it has become more important than ever.  ABOG’s certification program includes a component that allows its certified physicians – or Diplomates – to incorporate lifelong learning into their practices. This lifelong learning process incorporates a knowledge-based approach called Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLS) as a major certification component aimed at keeping OB GYNS armed with the latest, up-to-date medical information. According to a 2016 article in SingularityHub:

“The technology industry has entered the field of medicine and aims to eliminate disease itself. It may well succeed because of a convergence of exponentially advancing technologies, such as computing, artificial intelligence, sensors, and genomic sequencing. We’re going to see more medical advances in the next decade than happened in the past century.”

- Vivek Wadhwa, a Distinguished Fellow and professor at Carnegie Mellon University Engineering at Silicon Valley and a director of research at Center for Entrepreneurship and Research Commercialization at Duke