Jump to content

Lifelong Learning & Self-Assessment

Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment (LLS):

  • Requires ongoing participation in high-quality learning activities
  • Is delivered through article-reading assignments from peer-reviewed literature on clinically relevant patient-management information, best-practice guidelines, and research.


Annually, ABOG delivers about 160 article options to your ABOG portal. They're released in three 50-article batches, usually in January, May, and August (though some articles may appear at other times during the year).


You have two opportunities to answer questions for each article correctly. If your initial answer is incorrect, you'll get feedback and a second chance to answer. Learn more about Performance Pathway and the opportunity to opt-out from taking the Year 6 exam.


Specialist and subspecialist diplomates have different reading assignments. See below for details.




 Read 30 articles.
 Answer 4 questions per article (total 120 questions).
 Score 80% or higher average to successfully complete MOC (96 or more correct answers out of 120).
 Scoring below 80% will require re-entry process to retain certification.
 Score 86% or higher on your first submission responses (cumulative for Years 1-5 and maintain 86% or higher for Year 6) to have the option to opt out of taking the Year 6 exam.
 Year 6 article assignments still must be completed, even if you opt out of taking the Year 6 exam.
 Deadline to complete articles assignments: 12/15/2020
 Receive 25 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ from the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) upon successful completion of assignments.
 If not an ACOG member, there is an ACOG fee of $390 each year to cover the cost of administration of the CME credit (for MOC Parts II and IV).