Jump to content

Subspecialty Division Member Self-Nomination

Application Period August 25 - September 25


ABOG is committed to improving diversity, equity, and inclusion in its governance, culture, and certification exams/continuing certification programs. This includes improving participation of physicians from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups among volunteers, examiners, subspecialty divisions, and directors. ABOG was recently mentioned as a leader among ABMS certification boards in gender representation.


Accordingly, ABOG is accepting CFP, GO, MFM, and FPMRS/URPS Division Member nominations until Monday, September 25, 2023.


Each subspecialty division has six members. The divisions assist in setting standards for subspecialty certification, examinations development and delivery, and development of continuing certification programs. ABOG is a 501(c)(3) organization. To protect the integrity and credibility of ABOG and its activities, those in leadership positions must avoid conflicts of interest and the appearance of such conflicts with respect to its decisions, actions, standards, and examinations. 


Subspecialty division member must be:

  • An ABOG Diplomate participating in Maintenance of Certification;
  • Current or past volunteer in ABOG programs or activities (certification examiner, committee member, exam development, item writer, etc.);
  • Clinically active in either CFP, GO, MFM, or FPMRS/URPS subspecialty practice; 
  • Involved in Graduate Medical Education of OB GYN residents or subspecialty fellows; and
  • Free of conflicts of interest with relationships with pharmaceutical and device companies (e.g., employment, consulting, honoraria, compensation, ownership, stock, license, or royalty) and organizations that are not aligned with the ABOG mission, vision, and core values. 


To enhance geographic diversity, 2024-2025 new division members cannot be from the following institutions and their cities:

  • CFP: University of New Mexico, Rush University, University of North Carolina, University Hospitals Cleveland, University of California San Francisco
  • GO: Ichan School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, Harvard Medical School, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, University of Texas Southwestern
  • MFM: Ochsner Clinic, University of Washington, Duke University, University of South Florida, Columbia University
  • FPMRS/URPS: University of Iowa, Oregon Health and Science University, University of California Irvine, University of Oklahoma, University of Missouri Kansas City 


Division Members are elected for a one-year term and may be reelected for a maximum of six (6) consecutive one-year terms. The annual commitment consists of two in-person three-day Division meetings (travel included), as well as in-person 4–5-day participation as a subspecialty certification examiner. There are also some administrative responsibilities for subspecialty division members in addition to the meetings and examinations.


Nominees are accepted by societies, peers, or self-nomination. If you are interested, please fill out the form linked below. If you have any questions, please contact Andrea Rankin at arankin@abog.org.