Jump to content

Specialty Examiner Self-Nomination

Annual Application Period September 1 - January 31



Required Qualifications for Specialty Certifying Examiners


  1. Nominees must be an ABOG Diplomate in Obstetrics and Gynecology for at least five full years and be participating in Maintenance of Certification.
  2. Nominees may not be in a subspecialty certification process, with the exception of Complex Family Planning Senior Candidates, who are eligible to apply for Specialty examiner.
  3. Nominees must be involved in undergraduate medical education (students) or preferably graduate medical education (residents or fellows).
  4. Nominees must practice in the United States and be clinically active (involved in patient care at least an average of a half day per week averaged over a month).
  5. If a nominee is chosen, their term as an examiner will not exceed 10 years.



Self-Nomination Process


Details and instructions will be posted here closer to the self-nomination period.