Jump to content

LIBRARY 2Ashutterstock_614895548

About ABOG

Our mission is to define specialty standards, certify obstetricians and gynecologists, and facilitate continuous learning to advance knowledge, practice, and professionalism in women's health.




The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) is a non-profit organization that board certifies obstetricians and gynecologists (OB-GYNS) and also offers continuous certification (Maintenance of Certification) to OB-GYNS in the United States and Canada. Board certification is a voluntary process for those physicians who choose to pursue certification and maintain their certification.

ABOG also administers board certification in four subspecialties: 

ABOG also offers a Focused Practice Designation in Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology.

Special Initiatives: In 2017, ABOG launched a new initiative called Focus 20/20 - Practice Analysis in order to ensure continued exam relevance to daily practice and adherence to quality standards. Learn more.

 News & Important Dates

  • Remembering Philip J. DiSaia, Past President of ABOG Read more
  • ABOG's New Board Officers, Subspecialty Chairs, and Subspecialty Division Members Start Official Terms Read more
  • Ronald D. Alvarez, MD, MBA, Appointed Director-At-Large for ABOG Read more
  • ABOG's Pilot Program Approved for Permanent Status Read more
  • ABOG Announces New Focused Practice Designation in Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology Read more
  • Focus 20/20 Practice Analysis Launches Read more






ABOG works with affiliate organizations in order to achieve its mission and offer the best certification programs possible for Candidates and Diplomates.  



Affiliate Organizations