Jump to content

Focused Practice Designation in Pediatric and Adolescent Gynecology - FAQs

Learn more about the PAG Focused Practice Designation.


The PAG designation allows ABOG to provide obstetricians and gynecologists who have a special interest in the care of pediatric and adolescent gynecological patients more focused, relevant, and pertinent continuous professional development. Additionally, a focused practice designation in PAG provides recognition by patients, credentialers, peers, and other stakeholders of those obstetrics and gynecology specialists who are adequately acquiring and maintaining these proficiencies.

No. The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) utilizes the focused practice designation as a way to recognize areas of practice that either evolve as specialists progress through their professional careers or emerge as medicine changes due to advances in medical practice. Focused practice is not intended to be a form of certification, since it recognizes areas of focus within recognized specialties or subspecialties. Use of the designation will recognize an evolution of practice relevant to continuing certification rather than certification.

According to the ABMS, subspecialty certification relates to the body of knowledge or technique in a component of a specialty or subspecialty. It requires physicians to complete additional training and pass an assessment given by an ABMS Member Board. Focused practice is an added designation to a certification recognizing additional expertise or focus gained through clinical experience. Physicians must maintain an active certification in their specialty/subspecialty. See more details on page three of a document offered by the ABMS.

Between January 16, 2024 and April 30, 2024, ABOG Diplomates who are interested and meet the eligibility criteria can apply on their ABOG Portal. To request an application, email moc@abog.org. Applications will not be accepted after April 30, 2024.

Applications for the focused practice designation in PAG must have primary certification in Obstetrics and Gynecology from ABOG and must be meeting the ABOG MOC program requirements if they hold a time-limited certificate. Additional eligibility criteria include:

  • A candidate is a physician who is applying for the computer-based examination for focused practice on the basis of training, experience, and clinical practice.
  • Candidates must have completed a minimum of three years of clinical practice with a focus in PAG. Completion of a one- or two-year PAG fellowship may count toward the minimum three-year requirement of focused practice.
  • Candidates must have completed a minimum of 20 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits in PAG or relevant pediatric surgery CME in the last three years.
  • Candidates must submit a 12-month case log documenting a minimum of 100 gynecological patients under the age of 21, as well as an adequate breadth of practice minimums.
  • Candidates must also document on the 12-month case log that they provide care for patients under the age of 12 for gynecological care.
  • Candidates must document on the 12-month case log the number of surgical cases performed on patients under the age of 21.
  • Candidates must pass a secure, computer-based examination of focused knowledge, judgement, and skills in PAG.

The computer-based exam is scheduled for July 22, 2024, and the exam fee is $200, payable by credit card at the time of online application.

No oral exam is required.

Exam results will be posted in your diplomate portal approximately 5-7 business days after the exam.

A candidate who postpones or fails the PAG exam must complete a new online application to be considered for the next scheduled examination in PAG and pay a new application fee.

Yes, focused practice designation in PAG is time-limited. Each PAG diplomate must enter the PAG Focused Practice Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program in the year following successful attainment of focused practice designation and must successfully complete all assignments to maintain focused practice designation. Physicians who hold non-time-limited certificates in the specialty of Obstetrics and Gynecology must enter the PAG MOC process to maintain focused practice designation.

Diplomates who hold a time-limited certificate must meet MOC requirements annually for their specialty or subspecialty as well as complete additional reading assignments focused in PAG.

The Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment articles requirements for specialists and subspecialists holding a PAG focused practice designation cover the following categories:

For Specialists

  • General obstetrics, gynecology, office practice, and four subspecialties
  • Pediatric and adolescent gynecology
  • Patient safety and communication

For Subspecialists

  • General obstetrics, gynecology, office practice, and the other three subspecialties
  • Pediatric and adolescent gynecology
  • Articles in the diplomate's subspecialty
  • Patient safety and communication

Yes, however you must call ABOG at 214.871.1619 and ask for the MOC department to have the button added to your portal. Once you have achieved the focused practice designation in PAG, you must complete MOC yearly to keep your designation.

Yes, patients under the age of 21 who are seen in clinic without a procedure should be listed under the other/patient encounter without procedure line in the case log.

Questions? Contact the Maintenance of Certification department at moc@abog.org or 214.871.1619.