Jump to content


Media inquiries can be emailed to: communications@abog.org


ABOG Appoints New Board of Directors Members, Division Chairs, and Members of Subspecialty Divisions

Dallas, Texas (February 12, 2021) – Three new subspecialty Division Chairs and four new Division Members for The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) were recently appointed and will begin their terms on July 1, 2021. The Chairs will also serve as ex-officio subspecialty representatives on the Board of Directors.  The positions are as follows:

New Board of Directors Members and Chairs of Subspecialty Divisions 

Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery 
Matthew D. Barber, MD, MHS 
E.C. Hamblen Distinguished Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Duke University School of Medicine  


Gynecologic Oncology 

Steven Plaxe, MD 
Gynecologic Oncology
Professor, Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Reproductive Sciences
UC San Diego School of Medicine 


Maternal-Fetal Medicine 

Mary E. Norton, MD 
David E. Thorburn, M.D. and Kate McKee Thorburn Endowed Chair in Perinatal Medicine and Genetics
Division Chief, Maternal-Fetal Medicine
Obstetrics, Gynecology & Reproductive Sciences Department
University of California, San Francisco 


New Members of Subspecialty Divisions 


Division of Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery 

Lieschen H. Quiroz, MD 
Section Chief, Female Pelvic Medicine and Reproductive Surgery
Medical Director OU Physicians Women's Pelvic and Bladder Health
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
The University of Oklahoma College of Medicine 


Felicia L. Lane, MD 
Vice Chair, Clinical Affairs
Director, Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery
Program Director, Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery Fellowship
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
University of California at Irvine School of Medicine 


Division of Gynecologic Oncology 

Michael M. Frumovitz, MD, MPH 
Department of Gynecologic Oncology and Reproductive Medicine, Division of Surgery
Associate Chief Patient Experience Officer
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center 


Division of Maternal-Fetal Medicine 

Lynn L. Simpson, MD 
Hillary Rodham Clinton Professor of Women's Health
Chief, Maternal Fetal Medicine Division
Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Columbia University 


About ABOG  
The American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) is an independent, non-profit organization that certifies obstetricians and gynecologists in the United States. Founded in 1927, ABOG is one of 24 specialty Boards recognized by the American Board of Medical Specialties. Based in Dallas, ABOG serves candidates and diplomates in the United States and Canada in the specialty of obstetrics and gynecology, plus several subspecialties, including Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility; Maternal-Fetal Medicine; Gynecologic Oncology; Female Pelvic Medicine and Reconstructive Surgery; and Complex Family Planning.  

# # #