Jump to content

Maintenance of Certification - Four Parts

Maintenance of Certification (MOC) is a voluntary continuing professional development process to ensure that ABOG board-certified physicians maintain a high level of knowledge, judgment, and skills in Obstetrics, Gynecology, and Women’s Health throughout their careers. MOC is based on a 6-year cycle during which you'll complete a number of requirements on an annual basis. After completion of one 6-year cycle, the process restarts the next year.


There are four parts (listed below) to the MOC process. Click on any of the categories below for details and comprehensive information on each of the four parts of MOC. 




Part 1: Professionalism & Professional Standing



Part 2: Lifelong Learning & Self-Assessment



Part 3: Assessment of Knowledge, Practice, & Skills



Part 4: Improvement in Medical Practice